Behind the Music: Say It

And so once again, I pick up the irregular “Behind the Music” feature, which tells stories about how my real-life hypnosis experiences (which are what this blog is about) led me to write some of my stories (which are probably what led you here.) Today, we’re looking at “Say It”, which was a story I posted in November of 2008 (although, as with many of my stories, it was written much earlier. I think I wrote this one in mid-February of that same year.)

As with many of my stories, I kind of have to disappoint my readers and say that none of this happened…exactly. You’ve probably guessed from reading the story that Mark and Judy are myself and Lady Ru’etha, respectively, but we never had an experience like this, on a cruise or anywhere else. But Lady Ru’etha did meet a very nice couple at a hypnosis convention the weekend I wrote this, and She shared an interesting story with me about their meeting. (Which is, naturally, Hers to share or keep quiet, as She wishes.) She then dropped me into trance, and guided me through a fantasy of some of the things that might have happened, if I had been there and things had developed a certain way and we had wound up enjoying ourselves along the lines of…well, along the lines of this story. Then She had to go (She was still at the convention, and it was a very busy weekend for Her) and left me to float for a bit and enjoy the fantasy (while chanting the exact same mantra that wound up in the story) until my alarm went off.

When I woke up, I wrote this story. It isn’t one of my better ones, I think…it’s a little too eager to get to the fun, mainly because by the time I wrote it, so was I. πŸ™‚ But it is a notable first; I’d used a lot of words to describe hypnotized sex toys, but this is the first time I ever felt a strong enough connection to the character in the story that I actually described a character with the word “tranceslut”. That’s a pet name Lady Ru’etha uses for me when I’m under, and up until then it had felt too personal to share…but when I was typing out that mantra, it felt like it needed to be the exact same one I’d been repeating for the last hour. So I used it…and had a very hard time stopping my fingers when I got to the end of the story. πŸ™‚

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Behind the Music: Say It”

  1. Sir Aaronhalt Says:

    I am comically bad at remembering names – which is at times a blessing (I frequently fail to develop grudges to do not noticing that someone has wronged me several times) and at other times a real pain in the ass. For instance, I loved this story when it came out, and even managed to actively follow your stories for, like, two weeks afterwards. And then your name slipped my mind and I lost track.

    Of course, that also means that now, having fallen under Lady Ru’etha’s control, I get all sorts of happy surprises like that this story I loved was one of yours. πŸ™‚

  2. Jason Says:

    I have to say, I actually *really* liked Say It. In particular, the part where our heroine is waiting to see which of the other couple will succumb first is quite delicious. As you said, it moves rather quickly to the “fun bits” and as a result there’s no real sense of suspense. The reader knows where it’s going pretty much from the beginning.

    But you know, it occurs to me that there are two ways of having a “no suspense” story. One way is to simply telegraph the course of the story. The other way to do it is to make the lack of suspense be a part of the story itself. Here, I think you’ve accomplished the latter. Because Judy is obviously waiting to see *when* the others give in (rather than even sparing a moment to wonder *if* they will give in), it manages to turn the “rushed” nature of the narrative into something way more interesting than it would have been otherwise.

    Okay, also it’s just really hot and the whole “tranceslut” language pushes my buttons in a big way. But that’s neither here nor there. πŸ˜‰

  3. jukeboxemcsa Says:

    Thanks! That really means a lot to me, especially with this story. (When you don’t hear many reviews, you tend to worry that the negative ones were right. πŸ™‚ )

Leave a comment